Charlotte Hunt Art Prize

January 7, 2021 | By: Communications Staff

SJCPL and the South Bend Museum of Art are pleased to announce the 10 semifinalists for the Charlotte Hunt Prize! Out of 65 entries that were received from across the United States and abroad, these 10 talented artists were selected:

David Allen – South Bend, IN

Stephen Barany – South Bend, IN

Heather Brammeier – Peoria, IL

Kim Hoffmann – South Bend, IN

James Jursinic – Mishawaka, IN

Alan Larkin – South Bend, IN

Peg Luecke – South Bend, IN

Mary M. Mazziotti – Pittsburgh, PA

Chris Mercerhill – Columbus, OH

Greg Potter – Franklin, IN

The proposals range in media and include photography, oil paint, graphic design, and fiber works. The semifinalists are each awarded a $500 stipend to begin creating sketches to illustrate and clarify their proposals. In mid-February, the sketches will be reviewed, with three artists being chosen for First, Second and Third Prizes. The three prize-winning artworks will remain on view to enliven the River Park Branch Library and commemorate the love Charlotte Hunt had for her neighborhood and library.

Want to be in the know with the latest library news?